Annotations are a great way to add a little extra information to an image. Think of them as sticky-notes which can be shared or kept private. Annotations can support simple text, or HTML code and embeddable widgets- like Google Maps or YouTube content.
Create Annotations in the Detail View:
Log in, if you don't have a user account you'll need to register one.
Bring the image you want to add an annotation to into the Detail View.
Mouse over the image so that the viewing tools appear. Click on the Add Annotation icon, then drag it to the spot on the image where you want the annotation to rest.
- Once you drop the annotation on the image, you'll be able to add text or HTML to it, change it's color, and choose where to save it. To add formatting to the annotation (paragraph breaks, bold, etc) you'll need to use HTML code. In the screen shot below, this user has the option of saving the image as private or into a specific Media Group. A third option is to save at the Collection Level (not shown here), only those given permission by the administrator will see this option.
5. If you try to save an annotation into a Media Group other than the one you first opened the image from, you'll see a message indicating that once you save the annotation into this Media Group you will no longer see it (screen shot below). This does not mean your annotation was not saved, it simply means that in order to view it you must open the image directly from the Media Group the annotation was saved into. Viewing annotations is directly related to which Media Group it's been saved into, or whether it's been saved as Private.
6. Add as many annotations as you like. Each annotation has it's own property, so you can have some annotations on an image that are saved as private, and others that are saved into different Media Groups, or at a collection level.
Adding code to an annotation:
In addition to simple text, annotations will support HTML code. HTML code will help you to format your annotation. An example of a Google Maps widget in the annotation (note: try to keep the width just below 300 to stay within the frame of the annotation):
- To edit an existing annotation click on it once to view the current text, then drag your mouse over the "Edit annotation" icon.
2. The annotation will expand so you can edit the text. You can also change where the annotation is saved, and what color it is.
3. Your changes will automatically be saved, regardless of whether or not you manually click on the save icon
4. If you try to save an annotation into a Media Group other than the one you first opened the image from, you'll see a message indicating that once you save the annotation into this Media Group you will no longer see it (screen shot below). This does not mean your annotation was not saved, it simply means that in order to view it you must open the image directly from the Media Group the annotation was saved into. Viewing annotations is directly related to which Media Group it's been saved into, or whether it's been saved as Private.
Viewing and Sharing Annotations
If an annotation has been saved into a Media Group , you must first open that Media Group, then open the image in the LUNA Workspace or Detail View in order to view the annotation. If the annotation was saved as Private you don't have to open it from a Media Group in order to view it, simply click on it once to bring it into the Detail View or add it to the LUNA Workspace. The same is true if the annotation as saved at a collection level.
If there is an annotation on an image, and you have permission to view it, you'll see the Annotation icon highlighted in green.
Click on the green icon and the annotations will appear. To hide them, simply click on it again.
Being able to share your annotations depends on how you chose to save them:
Privately: If you've chosen to save them as private, you can't share your annotations- if you share a link to an image with an annotation that has been saved as private they will see the image but not the annotation.
To a Media Group: If you've saved annotations into a Media Group that is public, anyone who opens the Media Group and then opens an image from that Media Group to the LUNA Workspace, or the Detail View, will be able to view the annotations. When a Media Group with annotations is copied, the annotations are not copied.
At a collection level: If annotations are saved at the collection level they can be viewed by anyone with access to that collection. When a Media Group with annotations saved at the collection is copied, the annotations are also copied.